NFL Exec Troy Vincent: There Needs to Be a Culture Change Throughout the NFL

TIME

When the issue of domestic violence was thrust into the public eye as it was this year for the NFL, it conjured up memories and feelings that I didn’t want to revisit. No one wants to relive the shame, anger, and sorrow of a childhood that witnessed firsthand violence against his mother. But relive it I did. In a way, it stirred my innermost being and brought me to the realization that today, unlike when I was 8 years old, I was in a position to do something about it.

Amid the harsh criticism of the news media and the loud public outcry knocking hard at the NFL’s doors, I felt responsible to inform the process with my childhood experience and my lifetime dedication to end domestic violence, and to participate in the solution, which to me meant looking at the severity of these violent criminal acts and their impact…

View original post 591 more words