Sexual Assault and Injustice at UC Berkeley: A Story of Bearing the Path to Cloud IX

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 11.21.26 PMThen in the fall, I learned from a friend that my assailant was planning to graduate a semester early than planned, without the administration ever reaching out to me. I was angry that we had been ignored even with four survivors reporting, and I felt once again that it was my fault that I was in this situation. Waiting for the administration to respond was going to cost the shred of justice that I was hanging on to.

After waiting seven months for the reply that never came, I inquired into my case on my own. I finally received two three-sentence emails telling me that my case had “been resolved through an early resolution process” and that he had been found in violation of the student Code of Conduct, without specifying if any disciplinary action had been taken against him. Two weeks later, he graduated.

Contrary to its reputation for social justice, UC Berkeley has had a long and documented history of silencing survivors and under-disciplining offenders. In 1979, a coalition known as Women Organized Against Sexual Harassment filed a federal Title IX complaint on the grounds of sexual discrimination and harassment by professors. The same year, WOASH filed a joint brief in Alexander v. Yale, the Supreme Court case that set the precedent that sexual assault on college campuses violated Title IX.

Read more on Huffington Post.